Grandparents Day

I never knew National Grandparents Day existed until well into my adulthood. As such, I never wished any of my grandparents a “Happy Grandparents Day” or purchased cards for them saying as much on any first Sunday after Labor Day. I’m fairly certain none of my grandparents knew about the holiday either. The last one to pass away, Grandma Kiefer (how I miss her!), died over a year ago. Thankfully, on the one-year anniversay of her death, she did not return from the grave zombified to murder me and my family as an act of revenge for me never wishing her a “Happy Grandparents Day!”

The protag in my short-short story “Grandparents Day,” however, was not so lucky.

“Grandparents Day” will appear in Pill Hill’s forthcoming Daily Frights 2012: 366 Days of Frightening Flash Fiction, scheduled for release in November 2011.

On a related note, Daily Frights 2012 will also include my story “Actors and Actresses (and Others) Wanted” as a reprint.

~ by Douglas Hackle on September 16, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
