RIP Brain Harvest: Another One Down

In the short acceptance letter I received from Brain Harvest this past January for my story “Ice Cream in Amerikkkka,” the editor wrote, “It’s rare when I find exactly what I’m looking for, at the exact moment that I’m looking for it.” These words made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside, and I was high on them for the rest of the day after I read them. Yet at the same time, I felt the statement was subtly engimatic, implying something beyond what was written, something in between the lines.

After three years of publishing short speculative fiction online, Brain Harvest announced it is permanently closing today.

The editor’s words now make sense: my absurd little story, with it abruptly explosive ending and repetition of the phrase “THE END” (at the end), was chosen to be the final story to appear on the site.

I only discovered Brain Harvest not too long ago myself, but had the chance to read some excellent flash fiction at the site before it closed. Oh well.

~ by Douglas Hackle on March 4, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
