The Bizarro Starter Kit [Red] is Now Out!

As the popularity of bizarro fiction continues to grow, so does the number of talented people working in the genre. For that reason, I am especially honored to have my work featured in the newest Bizarro Starter Kit, which is now available for purchase on Amazon.

I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it again here: I can think of a whole slew of writers who might have deserved my spot in this collection more than I did. In fact, after I was informed late last year that I’d been selected for inclusion in the book, part of me didn’t believe it was true. Part of me thought it was a cruel joke, that one day I’d answer a knock at my front door to discover the entire bizarro fiction community—perhaps led by Carlton Mellick III, Rose O’Keefe, and Bradley Sands—standing out on my front lawn laughing, taunting, jeering, and pointing at me. “Hahaha! Did you really think you were actually going to be included in a Bizarro Starter Kit, Douglas??” someone would spit-shout. “Hahaha! What a fool you are, Douglas! Time to die, asshole!!” they’d chant. Then the bloodthirsty mob would beat me down to a pulpy pile of blood and guts and bone and skin and shit and chyme and chyle and tears.

But that didn’t happen! Yay, yo!

Anyway, here’s from the back cover:

“There’s a new genre rising from the underground. Its name: BIZARRO. For years, readers have been asking for a category of fiction dedicated to the weird, crazy, cult side of storytelling that has become a staple in the film industry (with directors such as David Lynch, Takashi Miike, Tim Burton, and Lloyd Kaufman) but has been largely ignored in the literary world, until now. The Bizarro Starter Kit features short novels and story collections by ten of the leading authors in the bizarro genre: Brian Allen Carr, Violet LeVoit, David W. Barbee, Shane McKenzie, J. David Osborne, Kirsten Alene, Robert Devereaux, Douglas Hackle, Eric Hendrixson, and Nick Antosca.”

My contribution to the Kit consists of two stories from my collection, Clown Tear Junkies, along with three new stories titled “The Many Bad Habits of My Main Man Klin-Klat, a.k.a. the Tap Dance Kid,” “TERROR SARDINES in TERROR SAUCE,” and “The Bored Ouija Board.” Check it out!

Bizarro Starter Kit - Red

 

~ by Douglas Hackle on June 5, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
